High Performance in Scientific Computing

Course coordinators : Laura Grigori and Frédéric Hecht

The High Performance in Scientific Computing Major (HPC) is one of five Majors available in the Mathematical Modelling Masters degree programme, which is the second year of the Mathematics and Applications Master.

The High Performance in Scientific Computing Major (HPC) is one of five Majors available in the Mathematical Modelling Masters degree program, which is the second year of the Mathematics and Applications Master.

High Performance Computing plays a major role in scientific research and industrial innovation. The architecture of large scale computers is evolving rapidly and is becoming more and more complex. These computers are formed by heterogeneous units and the number of computing cores exceeds the million. This petaflop computing capability (and an exaflop computing capability is expected by 2020) opens new possibilities for scientific computing, 1but requires new algorithms and a deep understanding of both computer structures and mathematical modelling.

These areas of research are currently blooming, with many advances required in order to efficiently exploit current and upcoming parallel computers. However, the required skills are still not available on the market, both in the research field and in academic training courses. This is also the case for the research and development divisions of major industry groups that have the necessary teams to work in this field. They also base their competitiveness not only on better management and optimisation, but also on a deeper understanding of their products through the use of mathematical modelling. Every single high tech industry is involved, from banks to organisations fosusing on society-relevant issues (global warming, pollution, management).

The HPC Major courses cover the following topics:

Course title Lecturer(s) Type Course Code
From EDP to their resolution by the finite element method Frédéric Hecht Fundamental 5MM30
High performance computing for numerical methods and data analysis Laura Grigori Fundamental 5MM29
Variational approximations of PDEs Yvon Maday Fundamental 5MM36
Modern methods and algorithms for parallel computation Frédéric Nataf Specialised 5MM38
Iterative methods for the resolution of large linear systems François-Xavier Roux Specialised 5MM46
Theoretical and numerical aspects of incompressible fluids Pascal Frey, Yannick Privat Specialised 5MM57
Compatible finite elements and particles for Maxwell and Vlasov-Maxwell equations Martin Campos-Pinto Specialised

Français | English

Sorbonne Université

Master de Sciences & Technologies

M2 Mathématiques & Applications (Sorbonne Université)

Calcul scientifique haute performance

Responsables : Laura Grigori et Frédéric Hecht

La Majeure Calcul Scientifique Haute Performance (HPC) est l'une des cinq Majeures proposées par la spécialité Mathématiques de la Modélisation, seconde année du Master de Mathématiques et Applications.

Le calcul scientifique Haute Performance est un enjeu stratégique pour la recherche scientifique et l’innovation industrielle. Les architectures de calcul modernes, en évolution continue, allient en effet des composantes dont la rapidité ne cesse d’augmenter et dont le nombre de coeurs dépasse le million. Cette puissance de calcul pétaflopique (et exaflopique à l’horizon 2020) donne des possibilités nouvelles, mais nécessite des algorithmes nouveaux et une compréhension profonde à la fois des architectures des ordinateurs parallèles et de la modélisation mathématique.

Ces aspects de la recherche sont donc en pleine évolution pour être adaptés aux architectures actuelles et celles à venir et les compétences sur ce créneau sont indispensables mais bien trop rares tant dans la recherche que dans la formation des unités académiques. C’est aussi le cas dans les laboratoires de R & D des grands groupes industriels capables d’avoir les équipes nécessaires sur ce créneau et qui basent leur compétitivité sur un meilleur contrôle, une meilleure optimisation et une plus profonde connaissance de leurs produits par la modélisation mathématique. Tous les industriels hitech sont concernés ainsi que les banques et les organismes concernés par les défis sociétaux (climat, pollution, planification, etc).

Les cours proposés dans cette Majeure couvrent les thèmes suivants:

Intitule du cours Professeur-e-s Type CodeUE
Des EDP à leur résolution par la méthode des éléments finis Frédéric Hecht Fondamental 5MM30
Calcul haute performance pour les méthodes numériques et l’analyse des données Laura Grigori Fondamental 5MM29
Méthodes d'approximation variationnelle des EDP Yvon Maday Fondamental 5MM36
Méthodes modernes et algorithmes pour le calcul parallèle Frédéric Nataf Spécialisé 5MM38
Méthodes itératives pour la résolution des grands systèmes linéaires François-Xavier Roux Spécialisé 5MM46
Aspects théoriques et numériques pour les fluides incompressibles Pascal Frey, Yannick Privat Spécialisé 5MM57