Energy and materials for the Futures

Course Coordinators : B. Desprès and E. Cancès

Energies and Materials for Futures (EMF) is one of the five Majors that the Mathematical Modelling speciality offers. It is the second year of the Masters degree in "Mathematics and its Applications".

Energy production, as well as the use of all sorts of conventional and alternative energy sources, will soon require a reinforcement of basic and applied research. Conventional energy can refer to hydropower, nuclear fission, oil, etc. Alternative energy can mean nuclear fusion, wind, photovoltaic, etc. In all these fields it is necessary to take into account complex phenomena such as modelling in the form of systems of partial differential equations (PDE) and their numerical resolutions are critical for progress in scientific research.

Likewise, the development of new chemical compounds and new materials (micro and nanostructured composite materials, graphene and carbon nanotubes, biomaterials, metamaterials, intelligent materials, etc.) has produced spectacular progress in all areas of engineering. This research is also increasingly based on the numerical simulation of models involving PDEs, as well as on stochastic models.

The EMF Major (Energies and Materials for the Futures) aims to offer a coherent course structure which tackles some of the main aspects of these themes.

The fundamental courses deal with variational approximations and the numerical simulation of elliptical PDEs (MU5MAM36), the theoretical and numerical study of hyperbolic systems of conservation laws used mainly in fluid mechanics (MU5MAM16), the coupling of models on various scales (MU5MAM34) and the numerical simulation of stochastic models (MU5MAM35).

The specialized courses of the “energy” stream focus on incompressible fluid mechanics (5MM24), complex flow systems (for example: from compressible or two-phase flow models used for the heart of nuclear power plants to the models of hydropower dams, (MU5MAM27), and kinetic models (or particle model of matter), whose theoretical dimensions are dealt with in this course (MU5MAM28).

The specialized courses of the “materials” stream focus on spectral theory and variational methods used in particular in the quantum forms of matter (MU5MAM87), solid and fluid biomaterial models (5MM26), and numerical and mathematical methods used in molecular scale simulations (MU5MAM38).

Finally, the course (MU5MAM21) introduces specific numerical methods of high precision in diverse systems.

The proposed courses enable students to acquire at the same time proficiency in the theoretical analysis of PDEs and in the numerical analysis of the most recent approximation methods used to simulate them, as well as expertise in one or various areas of application with a focus on modelling. This Major is offered in partnership with the Ecole Nationale des Ponts et des Chaussées (ENPC).

Course title Lecturer(s) Type Course Code
Variational approximations of PDEs Yvon Maday Fundamental MU5MAM36
Reject [CG] Theoretical and Numerical Aspects Frédéric Legoll Fundamental MU5MAM34
Probabilistic Numerical Methods Tony Lelièvre Fundamental MU5MAM35
Theoretical and Numerical Analysis of Hyperbolic Systems of Conservation Laws Grégoire Allaire Fondamental MU5MAM16
Introduction to stochastic PDEs Anne de Bouard Fundamental MU5MAM63
Spectral theory and variational methods Eric Cancès & Mathieu Lewin Specialised MU5MAM87
Discontinuous Galerkin methods and applications Alexandre Ern Specialised MU5MAM21
Cinetic models and hydrodynamic limits François Golse Specialised MU5MAM28
Theoretical and numerical aspects of incompressible fluids Pascal Frey, Yannick Privat Specialised MU5MAM57
Hyperbolic models for complex flow in the field of energy Jacques Sainte-Marie Specialised MU5MAM27
Mathematical methods and numerical analysis for molecular simulation. Gabriel Stoltz Specialised MU5MAM38

Sorbonne Université

Master de Sciences & Technologies

M2 Mathématiques & Applications (Sorbonne Université)

Energies et Matériaux pour les Futurs

Responsables : B. Desprès et E. Cancès

La Majeure Energies et Matériaux pour les Futurs (EMF) est l'une des cinq Majeures proposées par la spécialité Mathématiques de la Modélisation, seconde année du Master Master de Mathématiques et Applications.

La production d’énergie, ainsi que l’utilisation de sources d’énergies de toutes sortes, tant classiques qu’alternatives, nécessitera dans un avenir proche un renforcement de la recherche fondamentale et appliquée. Par classique on peut entendre les énergies hydraulique, nucléaire de fission, pétrolière, … Par alternative on entend l’énergie nucléaire de fusion, éolienne, photovoltaı̈que, … Dans tous ces domaines il faut prendre en compte des phénomènes complexes dont la modélisation sous forme de systèmes d’équations aux dérivées partielles (EDP) et leurs résolutions numériques sont déterminantes pour les avancées de la recherche scientifique.

De même, le développement de nouveaux composés chimiques et de nouveaux matériaux (matériaux composites, micro et nanostructurés, graphène et nanotubes de carbones, biomatériaux, méta-matériaux, matériaux intelligents, … ) donne lieu à des avancées spectaculaires dans tous les domaines de l’ingénierie. Ces recherches s’appuient également de plus en plus sur la simulation numérique de modèles faisant intervenir des EDP, ainsi que sur des modèles stochastiques.

La Majeure EMF (Energies et Matériaux pour les Futurs) entend proposer un ensemble cohérent de cours qui aborde quelques-uns des aspects fondamentaux de ces problématiques.

Les cours fondamentaux portent sur les approximations variationnelles et la simulation numérique des EDP elliptiques (5MM36), l’étude théorique et numérique des systèmes hyperboliques de lois de conservation utilisés notamment en mécanique des fluides (5MM16), le couplage de modèles à différentes échelles (5MM34), et la simulation numérique des modèles stochastiques (5MM35).

Les cours spécialisés de la filière ”énergie” portent sur la mécanique des fluides incompressibles (5MM24), les écoulements complexes (cela va par exemple des modèles d’écoulements compressibles ou diphasiques pour les coeurs de centrales nucléaires aux modèles de barrages, 5MM27), et les modèles cinétiques (ou particulaires), dont les aspects théoriques sont traités dans le cours 5MM28.

Les cours spécialisés de la filière ”matériaux” portent sur la théorie spectrale et les méthodes variationnelles utilisées notamment dans les modèles quantiques de la matière (5MM10), les modèles de biomatériaux solides et fluides (5MM26), et les méthodes mathématiques et numériques utilisées dans les simulations à l’échelle moléculaire (5MM50).

Enfin des méthodes numériques spécifiques et de haute précision dans des régimes variés sont présentés dans le cours 5MM21.

Les cours proposés permettent d’acquérir tout à la fois une bonne maı̂trise de l’analyse théorique des EDP concernées et de l’analyse numérique des méthodes d’approximation les plus récentes utilisées pour les simuler, et une connaissance d’un ou plusieurs domaines d’application, avec un accent mis sur la modélisation. Cette Majeure est proposée en partenariat avec l'ENPC.

Intitule du cours Professeur-e-s Type CodeUE
Méthodes d'approximation variationnelle des EDP Yvon Maday Fondamental 5MM36
Problèmes multiéchelles. Aspects théoriques et numériques Frédéric Legoll Fondamental 5MM34
Méthodes numériques probabilistes Julien Reygner Fondamental 5MM35
Theoretical and Numerical Analysis of Hyperbolic Systems of Conservation Laws Grégoire Allaire Fondamental 5MM16
Introduction aux EDP stochastiques Anne de Bouard Fondamental 5MM63
Théorie spectrale et méthodes variationnelles Eric Cancès & Mathieu Lewin Spécialisé 5MM10
Méthodes de Galerkine discontinues et applications Alexandre Ern Spécialisé 5MM21
Kinetic models François Golse Spécialisé 5MM28
Aspects théoriques et numériques pour les fluides incompressibles Pascal Frey, Yannick Privat Spécialisé 5MM57
Modèles hyperboliques d'écoulements complexes dans le domaine de l'énergie Jacques Sainte-Marie Spécialisé 5MM27
Méthodes mathématiques et analyse numérique pour la simulation moléculaire. Gabriel Stoltz Spécialisé 5MM50