Control, Optimisation, Calculus of Variations

Course coordinator : E. Trélat

The Control, Optimisation, Calculus of Variations (COCV) course is one of five courses offered by the Mathematical Modeling programme in the second year of the MA in Applied Mathematics.

Presentation slides

This course offers high-level training in the field of Control, Optimization and Calculus of Variations. Control theory analyses properties of controlled systems, i.e. dynamic systems which can be acted upon by means of a control (or command). The aim is to transform the system from an initial state to a particular end-state, respecting, if applicable, certain criteria. Numerous systems are addressed: differential, discrete, noise or delayed systems and partial differential equations. The systems' origins are very diverse: mechanics, electricity, electronics, biology, chemistry, economics, game theory, IT, etc. The aim might be to stabilize the system to make it resistant to certain disruptions or perhaps to determine optimal solutions for a particular optimization criterion (optimal control). Optimization theory generalizes the mathematical calculus theory of variations.

Job prospects are in academia as well as industry. Students of this course can pursue both academic theses or theses in industry (e.g. CIFRE thesis, a partnership between industry and university), and can lead to engineering jobs in specialised fields such as aeronautics or aerospace. In performance-driven modern industries where the aim is to design, build and optimise, or at least improve existing methods. As a consequence there are many other industrial opportunities: Thalès' R&D department, IFPEN, EDF, Dassault, RTE, Airbus and others. This course also attracts considerable interest from other organizations such as the French Alternative Energies and Atomic Energy Commission (CEA) or the National Institute of Agricultural Research (INRA). Finally, there are a number of partnerships with a great many universities in France and abroad, ensuring a wide choice of potential academic theses.

This Master and the MASEF Master ("Mathématiques de la Finance, de l'Economie et de l'Assurance") from Paris Dauphine University have established a convention which allows students from both universities to follow common courses. Theses courses are labelled "MASEF" in the following list.

Course title Lecturer(s) Type Course Code
Control in Finite and Infinite Dimension Emmanuel Trélat Fundamental 5MM53
Structured equations in biology Benoit Perthame Fundamental 5MM70
Introduction to the EDP of evolution Anne-Laure Dalibard Fundamental 5MM12
Elliptic equations Didier Smets Fundamental 5MM47
Continuous optimisation Antonin Chambolle Fundamental 5MM14
Discrete optimisation Michel Pocchiola Fundamental 5MM02
Méthodes du premier ordre pour l'optimisation non convexe et non lisse Pauline Tan Fondamental 5MM71
Game theory and applications in finance and economics (Master MASEF Dauphine) Miquel Oliu Barton Fundamental
Approximation et traitement de données en grande dimension Albert Cohen Specialised
Wave Imaging: concepts, theory and applications Houssem Haddar Specialised 5MM68
Geometric control theory Mario Sigalotti & Ugo Boscain Specialised
Fonctionnement des réseaux de neurones: analyse mathématique Delphine Salort Specialised
Tomography and inverse scattering Roman Novikov Specialised 5MM65
Tropical algebraic geometry in optimisation and games Stéphane Gaubert Specialised 5MM58
Mean field games (Master MASEF Dauphine) Pierre Cardaliaguet Specialised
Problèmes variationnels et de transport en économie (Master MASEF Dauphine) Guillaume Carlier Specialised

Français | English

Sorbonne Université

Master de Sciences & Technologies

M2 Mathématiques & Applications (Sorbonne Université)

Contrôle, Optimisation, Calcul des Variations

Responsable : E. Trélat

La Majeure Contrôle, Optimisation, Calcul des Variations (COCV) est l'une des cinq Majeures proposées par la spécialité Mathématiques de la Modélisation, seconde année du Master Master de Mathématiques et Applications.

Slides de présentation

Cette Majeure propose une formation de haut niveau dans les domaines du Contrôle, Optimisation et Calcul des Variations. La théorie du contrôle analyse les propriétés des systèmes contrôlés, c'est-à-dire des systèmes dynamiques sur lesquels on peut agir au moyen d'un contrôle (ou commande). Le but est alors d'amener le système d'un état initial donné à un certain état final, en respectant éventuellement certains critères. Les systèmes abordés sont multiples : systèmes différentiels, discrets, avec bruit, avec retard, équations aux dérivées partielles… Leurs origines sont très diverses : mécanique, électricité, électronique, biologie, chimie, économie, théorie des jeux, informatique… Les objectifs peuvent être de stabiliser le système pour le rendre insensible à certaines perturbations, ou encore de déterminer des solutions optimales pour un certain critère d'optimisation (contrôle optimal). La théorie du contrôle optimal généralise la théorie mathématique du calcul des variations.

Les débouchés envisagés sont aussi bien académiques qu'industriels. La formation mène à des thèses académiques ou à des thèses dans le milieu industriel (thèse CIFRE par exemple, en partenariat universitaire), ou à des emplois d'ingénieurs dans des domaines spécialisés comme l'aéronautique ou l'aérospatiale. Dans les industries modernes où la notion de rendement est prépondérante, l'objectif est de concevoir, de réaliser et d'optimiser, tout au moins d'améliorer les méthodes existantes. De ce fait beaucoup d'autres débouchés industriels existent : services R&D de Thalès, IFPEN, EDF, Dassault, RTE, Airbus, … Cette formation intéresse aussi beaucoup les organismes comme le CEA ou l'INRIA. Enfin, de nombreux partenariats existent avec un très grand nombre d'universités en France et à l'étranger, garantissant de nombreuses possibilités de thèses académiques.

Le Master 2 "Mathématiques de la Modélisation" de l'Sorbonne Université et le Master MASEF (Mathématiques de la Finance, de l'Economie et de l'Assurance) de l'Université Paris Dauphine ont une convention permettant aux étudiants des deux universités de suivre des cours communs. Ces cours sont indiqués par la mention "MASEF" dans la liste ci-dessous.

Intitule du cours Professeur-e-s Type CodeUE
Contrôle en dimension finie et infinie Emmanuel Trélat Fondamental MU5MAM53
Equations structurées en biologie Benoit Perthame Fondamental MU5MAM70
Introduction aux EDP d'évolution Katharina Schratz Fondamental MU5MAM12
Equations elliptiques Antoine Gloria Fondamental MU5MAM47
Optimisation continue Antonin Chambolle Fondamental MU5MAM02
Optimisation discrète Michel Pocchiola Fondamental MU5MAM14
Méthodes du premier ordre pour l'optimisation non convexe et non lisse Pauline Tan Fondamental MU5MAM71
Théorie des jeux : applications en économie et en finance (Master MASEF Dauphine) Miquel Oliu Barton Fondamental MU5MAM17
Approximation et traitement de données en grande dimension Albert Cohen Spécialisé MU5MAM73
Théorie géométrique du contrôle Mario Sigalotti & Ugo Boscain Spécialisé MU5MAM80
Fonctionnement des réseaux de neurones: analyse mathématique Delphine Salort Spécialisé MU5MAM74
Optimisation de formes: aspects géométriques et topologiques Samuel Amstutz Spécialisé MU5MAM78
Optimal Control of Partial Differential Equations Frédéric Bonnans Spécialisé MU5MAM77
Algèbre tropicale en optimisation et en jeux Stéphane Gaubert Spécialisé MU5MAM58
Théorie de jeux à champs moyens (Master MASEF Dauphine) Pierre Cardaliaguet Spécialisé MU5MAM85
Problèmes variationnels et de transport en économie (Master MASEF Dauphine) Guillaume Carlier Spécialisé
Réseaux de neurones et approximation numérique adaptative Bruno Després Spécialisé MU5MAM86